That Scottish Play…

No, not the unlucky one by Shakespeare. This one is Brigadoon: Original Television Soundtrack. I haven’t done a musical lately, so here it goes:

Side One

  1. Overture – Orchestra
  2. Brigadoon – Chorus
  3. Almost Like Being In Love – Robert Goulet (Tommy) Sally Ann Howes (Fiona)
  4. McConnachy Square – Marlyn Mason (Meg) Chorus
  5. From This Day On – Robert Goulet, Sally Ann Howes
  6. Come to Me, Bend to Me – Tommy Carlisle (Charlie)

Side Two

  1. Heather on the Hill – Robert Goulet, Sally Ann Howes
  2. Waiting for my Dearie – Sally Ann Howes
  3. I’ll Go Home With Bonnie Jean – Tommy Carlisle, Chorus
  4. There But For You Go I – Robert Goulet
  5. Brigadoon Reprise – Chorus

If you want to combine great orchestra with a huge, old-Broadway style chorus and soloists (and you aren’t in a Rodgers & Hammerstein mood) this album is a great way to go. As a soprano who struggles to belt in Neo-Broadway musicals, I have a strong appreciation for this show. Soprano soloists just don’t get the chance to show off how high their range goes anymore. Plus, the rich, round tones of the tenors and basses is one you just don’t get in post-rock & roll era musicals.

This musical also gives a pretty good sampling of particular flavor of humor you will only get from the Celtic region. While I’m not sure how accurately Brigadoon portrays Scottish culture, I do love the rich (if hurried) romance.

Personally, I have a hard time choosing a favorite track on this album. Honestly, I’m a little sad it leaves out Love of My LIfe, one of the funniest songs in the show. I do love listening to Come to Me, Bend to Me, especially in the moment when Charlie trails off the line “Come to me, bend to me, kiss…” and the orchestra takes over. Of course, even if you have never seen the show, you know that the lovers should kiss there (or at least have an intimate moment).

I also adore Robert Goulet romancing me with Heather on the Hill…I mention my adoration for his voice in an older post here.

Leave a comment